kicking it up a notch from my clay trees, I thought I’d try my hands on a bigger project using the same technique: a living, sentient tree aka the weirdwood.

Started out with a cardtube, cut out a face

Cut out the face to attach a plastic visir, then glued back the piece

IMG_3465

Made a hole under the base for the led candle.

IMG_3463

At this point I started laughing…look at this miserable wretch! I attached straightened paper clips for the branches with hotglue.

IMG_3466

“Kill meeeee!”

– No can do, hombre. You have a soul now.

IMG_3475

Now comes the fun part, air drying clay! I squeezed it on the bottom half first, used a tool to drag lines into it to simulate the bark. I let it dry over night and then continued with the top part.

IMG_3478

I covered the whole thing in pva glue and water mix to add strenght.

IMG_3480

Matt black coat.

IMG_3484

Brown drybrush, lighter brown highlight, and then lighter brown highlight in parts that stick out a bit.

IMG_3486

Voila! Stay tuned for scenic pics and backstory in my next post. I’m also brewing a Frostgrave scenario for it!

 

 

 

