As of late I’ve been thinking about the terrain pieces I have made and plan to make. I’m not satisfied with the total impression of our gaming field. It works fine, we have epic games, but there is something missing. I look at others blogs and posts and often become awestruck at the set up, variation and level of detail some have. I want more of that. To that end I have started to check out paper terrain. At first I was sceptical, I didn’t consider it “real” crafting and/or inferior to foamcore/resin/superglue and cardboard etc. But then I thought, hey, I’ve been playing with warhammer quest tiles and necromunda paper terrain for years…I also remember using it in warhammer fantasy many years back. Isn’t it the same thing? I started checking out what was out there. Best option so far seem to be Dave Graffam’s models at http://davesgames.net/. Not too expensive, great detail and variation, but the best thing: super detailed instructions how to actually make the models. He has a couple of free models available so I decided to download and try them. I started with “the Hovel”. Its a tiny house and seemed pretty straightforward.

img_3092

I learned alot from starting with this model. First I printed the model on semi gloss photo paper and glued it to a sheet of cardboard 1mm thick. I then cut it out, and at this point I realized that this is also crafting! In the instructions there was a recommendation of using reverse scoring, once I got what that was about I felt a bit like a pro to be honest.

img_3093

Some points that I learned from this first model: Photo paper looks great, but it gives off a bit of a shine on pictures (as you can see above). It is also very expensive. Consider carefully the glue you will use. low moisture is recommended, but the guy at the store I went to didn’t understand what I was talking about so the one I ended up with was not very good. Spray is out of the question for me, but its probably the best option. I had to turn to the glue gun for the roof on the hovel to make it stick. If you use 1mm carboard it is a bit too thick for folding the flaps on the model. I recommend gluing the print to a thinner piece of cardboard and then reinforcing larger walls with thicker cardboard where necessary. I downloaded the other free building he has available, the coach house, and tried a different approach. I printed on regular paper and glued it to a thinner cardstock (thickness of a cereal box) using a gluestick. The gluestick is not that strong, but quite easy to work with. I have not finished the coach house, but here is a sample to show the difference in color. Once I finish the other model and see how the different paper types work on the board, I will consider buying some more of Mr. Graffam’s work. Exciting and fun to work with these!

img_3095

 

